Skip to content

Agility – for me or the dog?

November 23, 2009

So, I’ve signed Miki and I up for agility classes. We start January 5 with the Calgary Canine Centre. I’m pretty psyched for this – so much so that I keep thinking the classes start next week. Miki and I have attended a couple of the Calgary Agility Meetups and she’s been really good with the equipment so I think she’ll enjoy learning how to run a course, and it’ll be good for further refining her behaviour, especially her attention span (I hope).

While it may not be immediately obvious, agility will also help teach me – and heaven knows how much I love to learn. While the initial set of classes will be mostly for Miki’s benefit, if I continue to enroll her in agility lessons, more and more it will be on me to properly handle her while on the course. I can’t begin to predict the future, but I’m half hoping Miki and I really enjoy agility enough to participate in trials and competitions. Only time will tell. In the meantime, we’ll look forward to starting our classes in the new year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

