First crack at quinoa

I’ve been meaning to make a recipe with quinoa. For those who don’t know, quinoa is a grain (much like rice) but loaded with protein. Very healthy and versatile. Also very difficult to find! Superstore was completely sold out of it (even the bulk bins) and I couldn’t find it at Safeway a couple of weeks ago. I did manage to find a box at Safeway this weekend – one of two left on the shelf (had to get help reaching it – jumping up and down and slapping my hand on the shelf to try reaching it just wasn’t working).

I found a recipe that looked simple (and for which I had all the ingredients) so I tried it out yesterday.

Aside from (I think) having the heat up too high so that all the broth evaporated, slightly browning the quinoa on the bottom of the pot (I added more broth and all was well) it turned out AWESOME. I love quinoa. I had it hot for dinner last night and cold for lunch today. I halved the below recipe (since I am 1 person and 8 servings is so very many).

I will definitely make more recipes with quinoa – and maybe share them on my blog if they’re good.

Yum!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Ingredients
1 tsp. canola oil
1 onion chopped
3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
3/4 cup uncooked quinoa (rinsed)
2 tsp. better than bouillon chicken mixed with 1 1/2 cups water
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup frozen corn kernels (optional)
2 cans (15 oz.) black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup fresh chopped cilantro

Directions
Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic, and sauté about five minutes.

Rinse quinoa with cold water for a few minutes. (Use a fine sieve). Mix quinoa into the saucepan and cover with broth. Season with cumin, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper. Bring the mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes.

Stir frozen corn into saucepan, and continue to simmer about 5 minutes. Mix in the black beans and cilantro.

Number of Servings: 8

Leave a Reply

