Skip to content

At Peace… Bridge

April 9, 2012

If you’ve lived under a rock for the last couple of years, you may not have heard of the Peace Bridge in Calgary. I’m linking a Wikipedia article for background if you’re not aware (university professors be damned).

Personally? I think some poor decisions were made, but they were part of a municipal administration before the current one, and so following due course and finishing the project was pretty much the only way to proceed. Do I know much about bridge building? No. Do I know what bridges should cost? Definitely not. The Canadian in me wishes it’d been granted to a Canadian firm to help support local…

However, I can’t deny the bridge is pretty gorgeous, especially at night. And I don’t know if we’d have a structure as remarkable if we’d cheaped out on costs or neglected to go overseas.

So, I’m going to remain mostly neutral on the whole issue. The deal’s done. The bridge is built. And I’m a taxpayer so, darn it, I’m going to use & enjoy it.

Like running during lunch or after work.

Slow walks with my loved ones.

Or taking pictures, like we did Saturday night. Here are a few of my favourites.

And my first attempts at HDR:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

